top of page

Mommy needs a 'mental health' day...

Life has been so busy the past three weeks! Mason's Doctor appointments, a couple migraines, the holidays coming up, birthday dinners (my friends are scorpios watch out!), working on a re-model with my husband while also trying to play off that his never ending gig working night shift isn't quietly turning me into a zombie with lipstick..... I'm so thankful I bought into all my friends entrepreneurial adventures this summer because spark, lipsense, r&f eye cream and dry shampoo are all that's keeping me publicly acceptable right now. 

Mase is teething, but without anything to show for it, has formed the opinion that his car seat is going to eat him, has been battling reflux and shall we say, 'finding himself.' By that I mean he's learned that I embarrass easily and will pretty much do ANYthing to make the screaming stop when in public. Don't judge me, I'm new at this. 

In spite of all of this he's pretty wonderful and entertaining 80% of the time so I excitedly ventured to a sushi bar Friday to celebrate one of my girlfriends 30th birthdays. (Skinny jeans, a 3 inch heel, blush, AND fresh hair. I was so excited. 

 (Insert my lobotomy here.) 

he screamed the 9.4 miles it took to get there like the car seat was a Venus fly trap or something, then kicked it up a few notches once we arrived and he sensed an audience and my anxiety. He knocked over a whiskey drink all over us both (and the two kids on a romantic date,) which prompted another mom there to kindly come over and 'encourage' me. It was then I realized I had become the 'aww, *head tilt' mom. 

Where you see her and say 'awww' while tilting your head sideways in sympathy and silent gratitude that it's not you! 

Saturday was a good day, Jesus gave me a cheat day I suppose. 'Nuff said. 

Fast forward to Sunday after church and I'm feeling frisky in the brisk cool air and decide to make a 'quick' trip to tj's to look for a new sweater for thanksgiving.

Mason slept through lunch, was cooing and seemed to be a willing participant to the excursion. 

That is Until I got the stroller loaded down with things I couldn't live without and I just happened to make eye contact with him.

Then I smelled it.

Bravo son. You can shut down a shopping trip in the blink of an eye. 

My mother invited me to Black Friday shop, I responded with this pic of us in the dressing room. Were going to participate in cyber Monday for obvious reasons.

I don't think you can drink on a 'sick day,' so I'm  putting in for a 'mental health day.'


You Might Also Like:
bottom of page